Illustrated Journal – Frank Miller’s The Dark Knight Returns

Quite a trend brought up here. It seemed like it was so recent when I went into the covers for the books int their original print and now I go into the whole thing. My reason for this is because my topic for my art history essay is Frank Miller, I dove into some of his most famous works and that included this. Because of this I feel like setting each respective week with a Frank Miller Comic. I’m starting with this because of all the books I have by him, this one is the earliest.

The art style for this graphic novel is disjointed, but done so intentionally to capture the feel of a gritty 80s time period. There are quite a lot of moments where the action is drawn to draw attention to the center of the page. And also the constant switch between simple and complicated drawing makes ads impact to when the switch happens. The character movement is a lot less stilted than the the style of characters from Watchmen but those are saved for the front views.

This entry was posted in Figure Drawing, Illustrated Journal, Non-Time-Based, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

